EBSCO Scholarships in Audio-Visual Preservation and Archiving

In collaboration with WGBH public media in Boston and the Library of Congress, Alabama SLIS invites applications for a new scholarship program for students interested in the preservation and archiving of legacy audio-visual media from American public broadcasting stations.  To be eligible for the EBSCO scholarships, students must be entering the MLIS program in fall […]

2020 ARLIS/NA-Southeast Professional Development Travel Award – call for applications

bout the 2020 Travel Award Are you an art librarian or library student living in Alabama, Florida, Georgia, Louisiana, Mississippi, North Carolina, South Carolina, Tennessee, Puerto Rico, and the U.S. Virgin Islands territory? Are you hoping to attend the 48th ARLIS/NA Annual Conference in St. Louis, Missouri, April 20-24, 2020? To encourage the professional development of our members, […]

ARLIS/NA St. Louis Conference Travel Awards: Applications open

The ARLIS/NA Travel Awards Subcommittee is pleased to announce that Travel Award applications are open for the 48th annual ARLIS/NA conference, to be held in St. Louis, Missouri, April 20-24, 2020. Conference Travel Awards website (includes link to application form) St. Louis Conference website Application deadline for all conference travel awards: Monday, January 6, 2020, 12:00 pm EST Awards Open to Current ARLIS/NA Members: Conference Attendance Award ($1000) Eligibility: Individual member […]

ARLIS Student Advancement Awards

The deadline for the Gerd Muehsam Award and the Wolfgang M. Freitag Internship Award is less than a month away! The deadline for both awards is December 9th, 2019, but eligible students are encouraged to submit their internship applications and student papers related to arts librarianship or visual resources as soon as possible. Please visit the individual awards websites for more information.   

Wolfgang M. Freitag Internship Award

Provides support for students preparing for art or architecture librarianship or visual resources curatorship. The Art Libraries Society of North America (ARLIS/NA) accepts applications for its annual Internship Award each fall. This award provides financial support for students preparing for a career in art or architecture librarianship or visual resources curatorship via a grant of $3,000.00 to […]

Gerd Muehsam Award

Annual recognition for an outstanding graduate student paper or project relevant to art librarianship. The Gerd Muehsam Award is given annually to recognize excellence in a graduate student paper or project on a topic relevant to art librarianship. This award was established to honor the memory of Gerd Muehsam (1913-1979), distinguished scholar, teacher, and art bibliographer, […]

Apply for the Elmar W. Seibel Scholarship!

Are you a current MLIS student in New England and interested in art librarianship, visual resources, and/or cultural heritage? Now is the time to apply for the Elmar W. Seibel Scholarship! The New England Chapter of the Art Libraries Society of North America (ARLIS/NA) is now accepting applications for the Elmar W. Seibel Scholarship. Applications […]

Apply today for the 2019 ARLIS/NA Texas-Mexico Chapter Lois Swan Jones Travel Award!

2019 Lois Swan Jones Professional Development Award Announcement The ARLIS/NA Texas-Mexico Chapter is pleased to announce the 2019 Lois Swan Jones Professional Development Award, which supports the participation of an ARLIS/NA Texas-Mexico chapter member at the ARLIS/NA 47th annual conference to be held in Salt Lake City, March 26-30, 2019. This year, the $750 award will be awarded […]

Brooks McNamara Performing Arts Librarian Scholarship

Sponsored by the Theatre Library Association, this scholarship acknowledges outstanding accomplishments of promising students specializing in performing arts librarianship and currently enrolled in an ALA-accredited MLIS program or an archival training program. This year’s theme: “How can performing arts library/archives professionals help create a more equitable and inclusive society?” You might want to discuss what initiatives you […]

2018 ARLIS/NA Ontario Travel Award Deadline Extended!

The deadline for the applications of the 2018 ARLIS/NA Ontario Travel Award to attend “Out of Bounds”, the annual ARLIS/NA conference in New York City, February 25 – March 1, 2018 (originally announced November 11, 2017) has been extended until Sunday, January 21st, 2018. All are welcome to apply.  Students, new professionals and ARLIS/NA Ontario members are strongly […]