2016 Lois Swan Jones Professional Development Award Announcement

Applications Due: December 28, 2015

The ARLIS/NA Texas-Mexico Chapter is pleased to announce the 2016 Lois Swan Jones Professional Development Award. This $750 award encourages active involvement of a member of the Texas-Mexico Chapter in the ARLIS/NA 44th Annual Conference held in Seattle, Washington, March 8-12th, 2016.

The LSJ award honors the memory of Lois Swan Jones, Professor Emerita of art history at the University of North Texas, by underwriting participation of members of the Texas-Mexico Chapter at the ARLIS/NA annual meeting. The award committee urges everyone with interest and need to apply, especially first-time conference attendees. To meet the primary requirement, applicants must lack full institutional funding. Previous winners are eligible. Applicant must be a member in good standing of both ARLIS/NA and ARLIS/Texas-Mexico.

A description of the award, application procedure, and a list of previous recipients can be found on the Chapter’s website.

The deadline for applications is Monday, December 28, 2015. The award committee will announce the winner on Monday, January 11, 2016. Direct all inquiries to the 2016 award committee chair: Helen Lueders (Museum of Fine Arts, Houston). Other members of the 2016 committee are Samuel Duncan (Amon Carter Museum of American Art), Beth Dodd (University of Texas, Austin), and last year’s winner, Becca Pad.

Submitted by Helen Lueders, Chair, Lois Swan Jones Award Committee

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *