Texas-Mexico Chapter Fall Meeting – Student Award Announcement

Applications Due: Wednesday, September 24, 2014

The ARLIS/NA Texas-Mexico Chapter is pleased to announce our first annual Student Award, generously funded by Eric Wolf, Head Librarian at the Menil Collection in Houston, Texas. This award covers both the ARLIS/NA student membership dues of $50 along with the local chapter dues of $10 for one year, beginning in the fall of 2014 and gives the new member a financial incentive to attend the local chapter annual meeting in Orange, Texas. At the 2013 annual meeting in San Antonio, members of the local chapter acknowledged their responsibility to future art librarians. By granting this award, we intend to encourage student involvement in the Art Libraries Society of North America not only on a national level but, as importantly, on a local chapter level.

This is a big year for Texas! Our local chapter will have its annual meeting in Orange from October 17 through 19, 2014 where the Stark Museum, a southeast Texas gem, will open its doors to us. From March 19 through 23, 2015, the 43rd Annual ARLIS/NA Conference will take place in Fort Worth. As a student member of ARLIS/NA and the ARLIS/NA Texas-Mexico Chapter, you can experience the professional development side of your future career in all types of art libraries and see important works of art and architecture in cities across the United States and Canada by attending these conferences or simply accessing the following websites: ARLIS/NA and ARLIS/NA Texas-Mexico Chapter.

The award committee urges all students with interest and need to apply; we especially encourage first-time conference attendees. To meet the primary requirement, applicants must lack full institutional funding. Apply for the Student Award by submitting a letter of application and a curriculum vitae to the Award Committee chair Lynn Wexler atlwexler@mfah.org. The letter must include a statement of qualification and your proposed conference program involvement.

The deadline for applications is Wednesday, September 24, 2014. The award committee will announce the winner on Wednesday, October 1, 2014. Direct all inquiries to the 2014 Award Committee chair: Lynn Wexler, lwexler@mfah.org, (Museum of Fine Arts, Houston). Other members of the 2014 committee are Beth Dodd (University of Texas, Austin) and Joel Pelanne (Museum of Fine Arts, Houston).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *