2010 ARLIS/NA Gerd Muehsam Award

Sponsored by the Art Libraries Society of North America (ARLIS/NA), the Gerd Muehsam Award is given annually in recognition of excellence in a graduate student paper or project on a topic relevant to art librarianship. The award was established to honor the memory of Gerd Muehsam (1913-1979), distinguished scholar, teacher, and art bibliographer, whose support of and dedication to ARLIS/NA was an inspiration to her colleagues and students.

Award Details

  • $500
  • Up to $300 travel reimbursement to attend the ARLIS/NA 39th Annual Conference in Minneapolis, MN, March 24-28, 2011- this year a joint conference with the Visual Resources Association
  • Registration fee to this conference
  • A one year membership to ARLIS/NA


  • The paper or project must have been created or written during the preceding 18 months by a student enrolled in an accredited graduate library program or in a post-graduate library school program in art history or a related discipline
  • The paper or project must be in conjunction with a course assignment
  • One submission is allowed per person

Deadline for submissions is November 19, 2010.

Visit the Muehsam award page on the ARLIS/NA website for additional information about judging criteria and submission guidelines.

View past Muehsam award winners.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *