Friday, March 12: ARLIS/NA Chat “The Future of Art Indexing”

Join the next ARLIS/NA Chat, this Friday, March 12:

*The Future of Art Indexing*

Recent discussion about BHA has brought to the fore a possible near-term  chilling reality — one in which access to both retrospective and current indexing may be severely curtailed. More broadly and across the disciplines, scholarly publications everyday become more available in digital formats. Some content becomes available through open access venues online, while others are available through subscription sources.

* What impact does this trend have on the future of art indexing?
* Do art researchers look to indexes as a primary discovery tool and will they use them at all as inevitably more and more content becomes available to them online in full-text?
* If we believe as a community that art indexes will continue to be a necessary and relevant discovery mechanism, how will the community support indexing projects going forward?

Please join us in an online discussion about this fascinating, challenging and changing element of our research landscape.

Moderator: Carol Ann Fabian, Director of the Avery Architectural and Fine Arts Library, Columbia University
March 12, 2010, 11am Pacific – 12pm Mountain– 1pm Central – 2pm Eastern

Instructions on how to use Meebo chat software are included on the Chats page: http://www.arlisna.org/chats/ Transcripts of previous chats are also available on the Chats page.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *