Lois Swan Jones Professional Development Award

ARLIS Texas Mexico members voted at this year’s business meeting to fund one award at $500 to assist travel to the ARLIS/NA conference in Denver, Colorado, May 1-5, 2008.

The Lois Swan Jones Award honors Professor Jones, Emerita at the University of North Texas, by underwriting participation of Texas-Mexico chapter members at the national meeting. While first-time conference attendees are especially encouraged, the award committee urges everyone with interest and need to apply. The primary criteria is that applicants not have full institutional funding. Previous winners are eligible. A description of the award, procedures for applying, and a list of previous recipients is forthcoming on the chapter Web site.

The deadline for receipt of applications is Friday April 18, 2008. The award winner will be announced on Wednesday April 23rd. Questions or concerns should be forwarded to Award committee members: Meriann Bidgood or Katherine Pierce. Conference program and registration information will be posted soon at the ARLIS/NA Web site (http://arlisna-mw.lib.byu.edu/denver2008/).

Submitted by Merriann Bidgood, Chair, Lois Swan Jones Award Committee

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *