William C. Bunce/ARLIS Midstates Travel Award

The ARLIS/Midstates chapter is pleased to offer its annual travel award of $500 for the 35th Annual ARLIS/NA conference in Atlanta. The award is given in honor of William C. Bunce who served as the Director of the Kohler Art Library at the University of Wisconsin-Madison from 1966 to 1999.

1. PURPOSE: The purpose of the William C. Bunce/ ARLIS Midstates Travel Award is to support a chapter members’ professional development by providing funding to attend the ARLIS/NA annual conference. Only ARLIS/Midstates Chapter members are eligible. Information about becoming a memberof the international organization and regional chapter is available at the:

ARLIS/NA Website

ARLIS Midstates Website

It is expected that the award will be made annually. The award will not be made however, if the chapter does not have sufficient funds and/or no applicants. Instead, any available funds will be rolled over for award the following year.

2. AWARD CRITERIA: The Travel Award will be granted based on ARLIS/NA and chapter affiliation and on one or more of the following criteria. All criteria need not be met for the Travel Award to be granted.

a. Financial need
b. Level of chapter participation
c. First-time attendance
d. Contribution to the conference, e.g. speaker, moderator, recorder, committee member, and/or participation in the chapter business meeting


a. Submit a letter of application indicating relevant award criteria, and how you will benefit from attending the conference.
b. Indicate level of funding from your institution.
c. Include a current resume.

Applications may be sent via email to saccarte@gmail.com,

OR by U.S. mail to

Sarah Carter
Fine Arts Library 251
Indiana University
Bloomington, IN 474055.

DEADLINE FOR SUBMISSION: The deadline for application is Friday, January 26, 2007. Recipients will be notified the following week and must confirm in writing by Friday, March 16 that they will be able to use the award for conference attendance. Award recipients are not eligible to apply again for three years. After receiving the award, the recipient must submit a short report indicating the value of the award to their professional development activities. For additional information please contact the ARLIS/Midstates Chapter Chair, Rijn Templeton, at rijn-templeton@uiowa.edu, or the Travel Award Ad Hoc Committee Co-Chairs, Sarah Carter at saccarte@gmail.com, and Eileen Fry at fryp@indiana.edu.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *