Two ARLIS/NA Chapters Offer Travel Awards


ARLIS Texas Mexico members voted at this year’s
business meeting to offer two awards at $500 each to
assist travel to the 2007 ARLIS/NA conference in

The Lois Swan Jones Award honors Professor Jones,
Emerita at the University of North Texas, by
underwriting participation of Texas-Mexico chapter
members at the national meeting. While first-time
conference attendees are especially encouraged, the
award committee urges everyone with interest and need
to apply. The primary criteria is that applicants not
have full institutional funding, and that they are
members in good standing with both ARLIS/NA and
ARLIS/TxMx. Previous winners are eligible. A
description of the award, procedures for applying, and
a list of previous recipients can be found on the
chapter Web site at
The deadline for receipt of applications is Thursday
February 15, 2007. The award winners will be announced
on February 23rd. Questions should be forwarded to
Beth Dodd at .

Judith A. Hoffberg Travel Award

The Southern California Chapter of ARLIS/NA is currently inviting applicants for its annual Judith A. Hoffberg Travel Award. The award honors the Chapter’s founder Judith A. Hoffberg. This year $400 will be awarded to support and encourage involvement in ARLIS activities by helping to defray the costs of attending the 2007 ARLIS National Conference in Atlanta, GA.

Letters of applications are due by Friday, February 2nd 2007 and the winners will be notified by Monday, February 12th 2007


1.) Membership. Applicants must be members in good standing of both ARLIS/NA and the Southern California Chapter [Note: Southern CA membership forms and checks can be sent along with the award application. For a copy of the chapter’s membership form see ]

2.) Financial need. Only applicants who receive partial or no institutional funds towards conference attendance will be considered (We strongly encourage folks who do not receive full funding to apply)

3) Eligible applicants include Judith A. Hoffberg as well as current board members (as voted on by the membership at the Cerritos meeting on March 29, 2006)

Selection will be weighted toward those applicants who best fulfill the following guidelines:

1.) Are attending the ARLIS National Conference for the first time, and/or

2.) Are actively participating in the conference in such roles as speaker, moderator, recorder, workshop attendee, etc.

Conditions of the award:

1.) Award winner must commit to some level of conference participation such as workshop attendee, speaker, recorder, local arrangements volunteer, etc.

2.) Award winner must submit a written conference report for publication in the Chapter newsletter, Canvas. This report will include an account of the recipient’s personal conference experiences and how the award contributed to his/her professional development.

To apply for the awards:

Please email or mail a letter of application to Trish Rose-Sandler by Friday, February 2nd 2007, briefly outlining your reasons for attending the conference as well as a short biographical statement listing employment history, educational background, professional activities, and how much funding you will be receiving from your institution (please limit information to a maximum of 2 pages). Winners must confirm in writing that they are able to meet the requirements of conference attendance. The travel awards will be presented to the winners at the ARLIS/SC Chapter meeting in Atlanta (date and place to be determined)

Trish Rose-Sandler
ARLIS/SC Travel Awards Committee Chair
Metadata Librarian
UCSD, Geisel Library
9500 Gilman Drive, # 0175K
La Jolla, CA 92093-0175
W(858) 822-0611

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *