ALA Annual Conference Scholarship – Shirley Olofson Memorial Award

The Shirley Olofson Memorial Award is presented annually in honor of Shirley Olofson, a well-respected former NMRT (New Member’s Round Table) President, who died during her term in office. The award, which is intended to help defray costs to attend the ALA Annual Conference, will be presented in the form of a check for $1,000 during the 2007 Annual Conference in Washington D.C. The winner will be chosen in January at the ALA Midwinter Meeting. All applicants will be notified in February.

Applicants must be members of ALA and NMRT; active within the library profession; show promise or activity in the area of professional development; have valid financial need; and have attended no more than five ALA annual conferences.

Fill out the application form here. Include a current resume that lists educational background and degrees, library positions you’ve held, activity in ALA, NMRT, or other ALA groups, activity in other library associations, and participation in scholarly activity. Write a short essay or paragraph that explains the reasons you are applying for this award. Address your financial need. (Specify what expenses are funded by your employer or other resources, e.g. registration, travel, lodging, and meals, etc. and what expenses you pay on your own.)

If you do not receive an email acknowledgment within 48 hours after submitting this application form, please send an email to Laurel Bliss at lbliss @ Applicants will be notified of incomplete applications.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *